top of page
Search
  • Laura Norman-Phipps

A place to start

Updated: Dec 4, 2018

I knew straight away I wanted to do a radio documentary, as having spent most of my summer doing work experience with a local radio station to me and then being offered a job from this, I knew this is the field I want to go into in the future! Choosing my idea for my Major Multimedia Project did not come easy. I originally thought of an idea that I wanted to do a radio piece on orphans and the effects it has on them as they grow up in life. But searching about this, I came across an article about 'victims of the care system', a topic that I am incredibly passionate about exploring, and what better topic to do my MMP on than a topic I really want to explore!

Recently in the news there has been stories about abuse in foster care in Nottingham.






This topic is very close to my heart and therefore I wanted to explore the extent of abuse within the whole care system, how it affects the victims psychologically and physically- this goes from foster care, to elderly care homes, to hospitals for example. Starting a project is always the hardest, thinking of that idea, finding a direction to go. So I decided I was going to start researching that topic; having experienced abuse within the care system personally and knowing how it made me feel, I realised it definitely was not going to be an easy topic to tackle! Getting people to feel comfortable talking to me and wanting to speak up about their victimisation was going to be enough of a task anyway, yet alone having to do all the research, write all the questions, edit together all the piece, find all the music and so on.

So the challenge is on...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Finished Documentary

After months of hard work, the documentary is finally finished! You can listen to it below:

BBC Editorial Guidelines and IPSO Code

One thing I had to be careful to follow during creating my radio documentary was the BBC Editorial Guidelines and the IPSO code. Anonymity is a huge part of my documentary because of the nature of the

Care Quality Commission statement

After weeks of trying to secure an interview with the CQC and it eventually failing, I managed to secure a statement from the Head of Inspection for Adult Social Care, Rebecca Bauers. The statement is

bottom of page