top of page
Search
  • Laura Norman-Phipps

Pitch feedback

I had to pitch my idea to my MMP supervisor and another academic. In preparation for this I made sure I researched my potential interviewees and my chosen publication/target audience.

For my piece I have chosen for it to feature on Radio 4, this is because the target audience that Radio 4 broadcast to is similar to those that would be interested in my radio documentary. It is said that the average age of a Radio 4 listener is 56 years-old and typically it goes towards an older audience. With my piece being based on the care system, I thought this audience range would suit because they would be the ones who are interested in hearing these stories and the ones who may have children or elderly members of family in homes, or people who may be in hospital so would be concerned on their wellbeing.

In my pitch I said I want my piece to air on February 15th 2019, this is because it is Care Day that day and what better day to have a radio documentary on the care system be broadcasted than on Care Day.



A screenshot on the information on Care Day

Overall, my idea was liked when I presented it in my pitch. It was stated that because my aim of this piece is to be an authored piece that it would make it a powerful piece of journalism. It was also said that I did a lot of research on the subject matter; however, I didn't know as much on the chosen publication to broadcast the piece on. From this, I am going to go away and research more on the suggested programme within Radio 4 to broadcast the documentary on. It was also said that I should read through the BBC Editorial Guidelines, to look at the right of reply for accusations being made and how I will handle them; this will be something that I will be doing within the next week to make sure I am clued up on what to do in any situation that may arise.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Finished Documentary

After months of hard work, the documentary is finally finished! You can listen to it below:

BBC Editorial Guidelines and IPSO Code

One thing I had to be careful to follow during creating my radio documentary was the BBC Editorial Guidelines and the IPSO code. Anonymity is a huge part of my documentary because of the nature of the

Care Quality Commission statement

After weeks of trying to secure an interview with the CQC and it eventually failing, I managed to secure a statement from the Head of Inspection for Adult Social Care, Rebecca Bauers. The statement is

bottom of page